Swarovski delivers a diverse portfolio of unmatched quality, craftsmanship, and creativity. Founded in 1895 in Austria, the company designs, manufactures and markets high-quality crystals,  genuine gemstones and created stones as well as finished products such as jewelry, accessories and lighting. The Swarovski Crystal Business is run by the fifth generation of family members and has a global reach with approximately 3,000 stores in around 170 countries, more than 27,000 employees, and revenue of about 2.7 billion euros in 2017.

Together with its sister companies Swarovski Optik (optical devices) and Tyrolit (abrasives), Swarovski Crystal Business forms the Swarovski Group. In 2017, the Group generated revenue of about 3.5 billion euros and employed more than 32,000 people.

A responsible relationship with people and the planet has always been an integral part of Swarovski’s heritage, and is embedded today in the company’s well-established sustainability agenda. In addition, the global Swarovski Waterschool education program has reached 500,000 children on the world’s greatest rivers, and the Swarovski Foundation, set up in 2013, works to support culture and creativity, promote human empowerment and conserve natural resources to achieve positive social impact. For the fifth consecutive year Swarovski and Design Miami/ have collaborated on the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award, honoring a select group of promising young designers and studios who exemplify new directions in design culture. This prestigious award, which was established in 2006, offers young creatives work beyond pure product design and represent conceptually or technologically vanguard approaches, often assimilating ideas from multiple disciplines. The objective of the award is to provide these next-generation design talents the opportunity to present newly commissioned work to an influential audience of collectors, dealers, and journalists at Design Miami/ Basel.

Previous winners of the Swarovski Designers of the Future Award are: Frank Kolkman (2018), Study O Portable (2018), Yosuke Ushigome (2018), Marjan van Aubel (2017), Jimenez Lai (2017), TAKT Project (2017), Anjali Srinivasan (2016), Yuri Suzuki (2016), Studio Brynjar & Veronika (2016), Tomás Alonso (2015), Studio Swine (2015) and Elaine Ng (2015).

Swarovski has previously contributed to Design Miami/ Basel with commissioned installations by influential designers and architects including: Ross Lovegrove, Greg Lynn, Troika, Fredrikson
Stallard, Erwin Redl, Eyal Burstein, Asif Khan, Guilherme Torres, Jeanne Gang and Mexico City-based global architecture and design practice Fernando Romero Enterprise (FR-EE).